© 2024 WFAE

Mailing Address:
WFAE 90.7
P.O. Box 896890
Charlotte, NC 28289-6890
Tax ID: 56-1803808
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Bigger Majority for Dems on MeckCo Commission

Jennifer Roberts and Harold Cogdell, Jr.
Jennifer Roberts and Harold Cogdell, Jr.

Democrats gained another seat on the Mecklenburg County Commission yesterday for a six-to-three majority. All three Democrats running for at-large seats on the County Commission won their races. Incumbent Chairwoman Jennifer Roberts ran a coordinated campaign with fellow party-mates Harold Cogdell Junior and Dan Murrey. Roberts says their success will make it easier to pass economic policies that will add jobs and improve education in Mecklenburg County. "Democrats are good at listening to the grassroots and we're good at understanding the plight of the average middle class person - of which there are a number in this county - and that's gonna make us better equipped to fight for their future," says Roberts. Victory speeches by Roberts, Cogdell and Murrey at a celebration in Charlotte late last night were interrupted by news that Barack Obama had won the presidency. Roberts says she and other Democrats in Mecklenburg County benefited from the energy Obama generated among voters. Incumbent Democrats Vilma Leake and Dumont Clarke also retained their seats on the county commission, as did Republicans Karen Bentley and Bill James. Democrat George Dunlap and Republican Neil Cooksey round out the nine-member board.