© 2024 WFAE

Mailing Address:
8801 J.M. Keynes Dr. Ste. 91
Charlotte NC 28262
Tax ID: 56-1803808
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

From The Heartland: Dvorak's 'American' Quartet

Czech Composer Antonin Dvorak (1841 - 1904).
Hulton Archive
Getty Images
Czech Composer Antonin Dvorak (1841 - 1904).

Czech composer Antonin Dvorak spent the summer of 1893 in village of Spillville, Iowa — a town populated almost entirely by Czech expatriates.

Of his time there, Dvorak said "As for my new Symphony, the F major String Quartet and the Quintet (composed here in Spillville) — I should never have written these works 'just so' if I hadn't seen America."

Composer, pianist, and frequent NPR commentator Rob Kapilow offers a guide through Dvorak's String Quartet No. 12 in F major Op. 96, and explains how the young nation influenced the European musician.

Copyright 2022 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.