© 2023 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Dave Douglas Quintet: Live From 92Y Tribeca

Before she died last year, Dave Douglas' mother left her son with a list of hymns and folk songs to play at her memorial service, down to the specific verses. But even after the funeral, the songs lingered in Douglas' head; he kept toying with the arrangements in search of a more personal reflection. He found it by rebuilding his quintet with new musicians and welcoming a special guest: Aoife O'Donovan, a singer and guitarist best known for her work in folk and bluegrass bands. Together, they've recorded Be Still, a new album of these arrangements, due out later this month.

At the Festival of New Trumpet Music — an annual concert series that Douglas co-founded back in 2003 — the new Dave Douglas Quintet and Aoife O'Donovan present their new music live in concert. WBGO and NPR Music present a live radio broadcast and online video webcast of the performance. The concert is also part of WBGO's The Checkout: Live series. For the full concert archive, visit npr.org/checkoutlive.

Set List

Set One

  • "Going Somewhere With You" (Douglas) [video highlight]
  • "This Is My Father's World" (Traditional)
  • "Barbara Allen" (Traditional)
  • "Don't Come Again" (Traditional)
  • "Middle March" (Douglas)
  • "The Turkey And The Straw Man" (Douglas)
  • "High On A Mountain" (Ola Belle Reed)
  • "Glowing Heart" (O'Donovan)
  • "Be Still My Soul" (Sibelius, arr. Douglas) [video highlight]
  • Set Two

  • "Bridge To Nowhere" (Douglas)
  • "My Cares Are Down Below" (Douglas)
  • "One Morning" (Gillian Welch)
  • "God Be With You 'Til We Meet Again" (William G. Tomer)
  • "The Pigeon And The Pie" (Douglas)
  • "Whither Must I Wander?" (Vaughan-Williams)
  • "Living Streams" (Douglas)
  • "Pearls" (O'Donovan)
  • "Troubled All About My Soul" (Traditional)
  • Personnel

  • Dave Douglas, trumpet
  • Aoife O'Donovan, voice/guitar
  • Jon Irabagon, saxophone
  • Matt Mitchell, piano
  • Linda Oh, bass
  • Clarence Penn, drums
  • Credits

    Producer and Host: Josh Jackson; Audio Engineer: David Tallacksen; Production Assistant: Michael Downes; Video Director: Stew Nachmias. Recorded Sept. 19, 2012 at 92Y Tribeca in New York, N.Y. Photo by John Rogers/johnrogersnyc.com

    Copyright 2021 WBGO. To see more, visit WBGO.