© 2021 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Paul Cebar Tomorrow Sound On Mountain Stage

Paul Cebar Tomorrow Sound appears onMountain Stage, recorded live on the campus of Ohio University in Athens. An institution in his native Wisconsin, Cebar has been a prime mover and promulgator of funky Afro-Caribbean-inflected Americana since the 1980s. His material has ranged from surf instrumentals and blues-rock to worldbeat and many points in between.

His Tomorrow Sound lineup reflects the music of New Orleans, his work as a musicologist in Florida and his travels in Cuba, South America and Trinidad. In 2013, Cebar's album Fine Rude Thing followed 2007's Tomorrow Sound Now for Yes Music People. Cebar also released a project with writer and NPR commentator David Greenberger titled They Like Me Around Here. Here, Paul Cebar Tomorrow Sound plays songs from Fine Rude Thing. Bob Jennings plays keys and saxophone, along with percussionists Reggie Bordeaux and Mac Perkins and bassist Mike Fredrickson.

Set List

  • "Like Loving People Do"
  • "Baby Shake"
  • "You Owe It To You"
  • "Summer Starts Right Now"
  • Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.