© 2021 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Hiromi's SonicBloom: Newport Jazz 2009

It's hard not to notice Hiromi Uehara's energy: her dazzling, explosive keyboard abilities are front and center in her music. The way she designs tunes, or even interprets standards, ripples with flourishes of Romantic-era classical music, prog-rock bombast and playful gusto. And her touch on piano and keyboards is nothing if not intense.

Born and raised in Japan, but trained in jazz at Berklee College of Music, Hiromi has found fellow graduates and Boston-area collaborators to match her vision. In the last three years, her newest band SonicBloom, a quartet which often features gonzo jazz-rock guitarist Dave Fiuczynski, has made two albums, plus a forthcoming live DVD. That group's expressive jazz fusion will be on display at the Harbor Stage on Saturday at the 2009 Newport Jazz Festival.


  • Hiromi, piano, keyboards
  • Tony Grey, bass
  • Mauricio Zottarelli, drums
  • John Shannon, guitar
  • Set List

  • "Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise"
  • "Led Boots"
  • "Claire de Lune"
  • "Piano Solo"
  • "Caravan"
  • Copyright 2021 GBH. To see more, visit GBH.