© 2022 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Pokey LaFarge, Live In Concert: Newport Folk 2011

Pokey LaFarge performs at the 2011 Newport Folk Festival.

It almost goes without saying that Pokey LaFarge is a man out of time: With his slicked-back hair and vintage clothing, he looks like a grown-up street urchin from early in the previous century. His music matches his look: Recorded with his band The South City Three, the new Middle of Everywhere could have emerged from a decades-old field recording, even as it exudes modern whiz-bang energy. (It's no surprise that the man is putting out his own 78 RPM record.) LaFarge and his players put on a tremendously tight live show, the result of years spent busking and wandering, so don't miss them as they return to play the 2011 Newport Folk Festival in Newport, R.I.

Set List

  • "Some Of These Days"
  • "Walk Outta Town"
  • "Devil Ain't Lazy"
  • "Pack It Up"
  • "Good Man Is Hard To Find"
  • "St. Louis Crawl"
  • "Hard Times Come And Go"
  • "Hear To Toe"
  • "La La Blues"
  • "My Baby's Got A Knack"
  • "Drinkin' Whiskey Tonight"
  • "Garbage Man Blues"
  • "St. Louis Blues"
  • "Move Outta Town"
  • Copyright 2021 Folk Alley. To see more, visit Folk Alley.