© 2021 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Lage Lund: Live From 92Y Tribeca

The Norwegian guitarist Lage Lund came to New York City in 2002, and quickly found his way into the jazz scene. His chops and vision won him the prestigious Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition in 2005. He's been able to lead more bands lately; in 2010, he issued Unlikely Stories, a disc of original tunes, followed up with a live trio set this year called Small Club, Big City. He brings a band of first-call New York musicians to the date.

On Wednesday, Nov. 16, 2011, The Checkout: Live series paired the bands of Lage Lund and Warren Wolf in a double bill, in performance at 92Y Tribeca. The concert was broadcast on air via WBGO and in an online video webcast at this page on NPR Music, with a live online chat. For more information about this series and the full concert archive, visit npr.org/checkoutlive.

Set List

All compositions by Lage Lund.

  • "Truckstop Queen"
  • "Circus Blues"
  • "Circus Island"
  • "Party Of One"
  • "12 Beats"
  • "Strangely" [video highlight]
  • Personnel

  • Lage Lund, guitar
  • Pete Rende, piano
  • Matt Penman, bass
  • Jochen Rueckert, drums

  • Credits: Josh Jackson, producer and host. David Tallacksen, mix engineer. Simon Rentner, assistant.Recorded Nov. 16, 2011 at 92Y Tribeca in New York, N.Y. Photo by John Rogers for NPR / johnrogersnyc.com

    Copyright 2021 WBGO. To see more, visit WBGO.