© 2021 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Leala Cyr And Ricardo Vogt: Live At Berklee

She's from a small Midwestern town. He comes from Southern Brazil. But Leala Cyr, a vocalist and trumpeter, and Ricardo Vogt, a guitarist, have been collaborating since they met at the University of Wisconsin at Green Bay. The married couple has not only been tapped to support fellow cross-cultural adventurers Milton Nascimento and Esperanza Spalding; they've also been developing their own takes on improvising traditions from their native countries.

Cyr and Vogt returned with a band to a school they attended, Berklee College of Music, for this installment of The Checkout: Live At Berklee series. In a live radio broadcast on WBGO and live online video webcast at NPR Music, Ricardo Vogt and Leala Cyr performed live at Berklee's Cafe 939 on Thursday, Feb. 9. For more information about this series and the full concert archive, visit npr.org/checkoutlive.

Set List

  • "Conversas, Desenhos, Pinturas" (Ricardo Vogt/Milton Nascimento)
  • "Eco" (Ricardo Vogt)
  • "Gritos de Crianças de Rua" (Ricardo Vogt/Milton Nascimento) [video highlight]
  • "Dichavado" (Guinga)
  • "A Beautiful Friendship" (Kahn/Styne)
  • "É" (Gonzaguinha)
  • "The Usual SUS Chords" (Ricardo Vogt)
  • "Goin' Home" (Leala Cyr/Pedro Bernardo)
  • Personnel

  • Leala Cyr, vocals/trumpet
  • Ricardo Vogt, guitar
  • Leonardo Genovese, piano
  • Ben Street, bass
  • Rafael Barata, drums
  • Credits

    Producer and Host: Josh Jackson; Audio Engineer: David Tallacksen. Recorded Feb. 9, 2012 at Berklee College of Music in Boston, Mass. Photo by Rafael Sanchez/Berklee College of Music.

    Copyright 2021 WBGO. To see more, visit WBGO.