© 2021 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Gretchen Parlato: Newport Jazz 2010

Gretchen Parlato

It's not her light and feathery voice so much as how she uses it: phrased creatively, on pitch, in ways that request and reward closer attention. It's to her credit that hip young New York musicians are happy to play with Parlato — she's as much a musician as they are. One such grouping appears here at the CareFusion Newport Jazz Festival in Newport, R.I.


  • Gretchen Parlato, vocals
  • Gerald Clayton, piano/Fender Rhodes
  • Alan Hampton, bass
  • Kendrick Scott, drums
  • Set List

  • "Within Me"
  • "Butterfly"
  • "Juju"
  • "Doralice"
  • "Weak"
  • "On The Other Side"
  • "Ugly Beauty"
  • "I Can't Help It"
  • Copyright 2021 GBH. To see more, visit GBH.