© 2021 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Vijay Iyer Trio: Live In Concert

Pianist and composer Vijay Iyer leads a trio that traffics in grooves, crackling and heavy. He has a distinctive way of exploiting dissonance and rhythmic space at the piano; he's joined by a deeply resonant, gut-punching bassist (Stephan Crump) and a drummer with an advanced understanding of time (Marcus Gilmore). The results are beats that feel borrowed from a future age; alternately, they're new lenses on jazz's big-picture history.

The band led off its packed-house performance at Le Poisson Rouge with a number by the disco-funk band Heatwave ("The Star of a Story"), created a sort of acoustic Detroit techno ("Hood"), stretched out a Michael Jackson classic ("Human Nature") and played Ronnie Foster's "Mystic Brew" with full knowledge of its sampling by A Tribe Called Quest. A few more originals rounded out this slightly abbreviated set, a partial preview of the upcoming album Accelerando. Full of stutter steps and snare claps, power chords and low end, the concert proved a clear highlight of the 2012 NYC Winter Jazzfest.

Set List

  • "The Star Of A Story" (R. Temperton)
  • "Lude" (Iyer)
  • "Optimism" (Iyer)
  • "Hood" (Iyer)
  • "Human Nature" (Porcaro/Bettis)
  • "Actions Speak" (Iyer) [video highlight]
  • "Mystic Brew" (R. Foster)
  • Personnel

  • Vijay Iyer, piano
  • Stephan Crump, bass
  • Marcus Gilmore, drums
  • Credits

    Producers: Mito Habe-Evans, Patrick Jarenwattananon; Audio Engineer: Kevin Wait; Executive Producers: Anya Grundmann, Keith Jenkins. Recorded Jan. 7, 2012 at Le Poisson Rouge in New York, N.Y.

    Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.