© 2023 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Here are some of the other stories catching our attention.

Dashew Joins Incumbents Ellis-Stewart, McCray On CMS Board

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools

The CMS school board will have one new member.  Elyse Dashew will join incumbents Ericka Ellis-Stewart and Mary McCray on the board as an at-large member. 

  Dashew just missed winning a school board seat four years ago. This time around she received the second- highest number of votes.  Dashew has long been involved in education matters. She helped lead groups pushing for more school nurses and higher funding for CMS. 

She along with Ellis-Stewart and McCray say they would like to see school boundaries re-drawn to create more diversity at schools.  Ellis-Stewart and McCray say that doesn’t mean increasing the amount of busing. 

Ellis-Stewart was the top vote-getter. Current board chairman Mary McCray received the third-highest number of votes. 

The board’s vice chairman Tim Morgan decided not to run this year.  He endorsed fellow Republican Jeremy Stephenson who trailed McCray by about 3,921 votes. 


Lisa Worf traded the Midwest for Charlotte in 2006 to take a job at WFAE. She worked with public TV in Detroit and taught English in Austria before making her way to radio. Lisa graduated from University of Chicago with a bachelor’s degree in English.