© 2021 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

South Carolina Primaries: Sanford Loses, Parnell Wins, McMaster Headed To Run-Off

Two of President Trump’s picks came out ahead in Tuesday's South Carolina primaries. Governor Henry McMaster was the top vote-getter in the Republican primary, but did not get the 50 percent needed to avoid a runoff. 

McMaster thanked Trump for his support Tuesday night in a speech recorded by WLTX.

“We’ve had the greatest president of our lifetime and that is Donald J. Trump. I am thrilled to have his endorsement. He’s campaigned for me,” said McMaster.

McMaster received about 42 percent of the vote. He will face political newcomer, Greenville businessman John Warren, on June 26th.  Warren received about 28 percent of the vote.

Longtime state Representative James Smith won the Democratic primary for governor. 

Congressman Mark Sanford lost his first political race. A few hours before the polls closed, the President tweeted Sanford was "nothing but trouble" and that he was "better off in Argentina."He endorsed state Representative Katie Arrington for the coastal district.

Arrington ended up winning with just over 50 percent of the vote. Sanford had 46 percent.   

“I need to accept the fact that I did my part in terms of trying to represent the people I represent based on the promises I made running for office and, whether or not they are buying, that product is up to them,” said Sanford to supporters Tuesday night.

In her speech, Arrington thanked Sanford for his service.

“It has been a rough and tumble campaign, but everyone should remember that we agree more than we disagree," said Arrington.

In the 5th Congressional district, Democrat Archie Parnell overwhelmingly won his party’s primary despite a recent admission that he abused his ex-wife decades ago.  It’ll be a rematch in the fall between him and Republican incumbent Ralph Norman.  Parnell narrowly lost to Norman in a special election in 2017.