© 2022 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Live Results: Mecklenburg County Elections

Cecilia Ramirez and Mary  Hopper
Michael Falero
Cecilia Ramirez (left) and Mary Hopper were campaigning for Charlotte city council members Tuesday.

Voters in Mecklenburg County went to the polls Tuesday to choose leaders of local cities, towns and the second largest school district in North Carolina. Additionally, on the ballot was a quarter-cent sales tax to benefit arts, parks and greenways and education.

Follow live updates below.


Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools

Thirteen people were running for three seats on the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools Board of Education. The seats are at-large, meaning residents countywide cast ballots. The public school system winners will help lead is the second largest in the state, with about 148,000 students, 175 schools and roughly 19,000 employees.

Sales Tax

Voters were asked to decide on a quarter-cent sales tax increase to help fund arts and cultural organizations, parks and greenways and education. The tax would generate about $50 million. Forty-five percent — or about $22.5 million — of that would go to the Arts & Science Council. 

Charlotte Mayor, City Council

First-term Charlotte Mayor Vi Lyles, a Democrat, was challenged by Republican David Rice. There were also five candidates running for four at-large seats on City Council. Districts 2, 4 and 6 were also being contested. The winners will lead the Carolinas' largest city for the next two years, including during the rapidly approaching 2020 Republican National Convention.

Mecklenburg Municipalities

There are races for the Cornelius and Davidson commissions, Huntersville mayor and commission, Matthews mayor and commission, Mint Hill mayor and commission and Pineville mayor and commission. 

In Davidson and Mooresville, which is Iredell County, voters were asked whether to sell the towns' cable and internet system, Continuum. And in Pineville, voters decided whether to expand their town's council from four seats to six.