© 2021 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Pokey LaFarge: Newport Folk 2010

Pokey LaFarge performs at the 2010 Newport Folk Festival.
Pokey LaFarge performs at the 2010 Newport Folk Festival.

You wouldn't expect someone called Pokey LaFarge to grow up in fancy boarding schools, so it's not a huge surprise to learn that he came of age as an all-around rural wanderer who found his voice in roving packs of fellow buskers. Naturally, he keeps one eye on tradition, but — true to form for an adventure-seeking free spirit — he's always looking forward, too. LaFarge's newest album, recorded with his South City Three, is titled Riverboat Soul. Here, LaFarge and his band perform live at the Newport Folk Festival in Newport, R.I.

Set List

  • "Mississippi River"
  • "Right Key, Wrong Key Hole"
  • "Feels So Good"
  • "Sweet Potato"
  • "Oh Mama"
  • "Home Away From Home"
  • "Sunny Side Of The Street"
  • "Jailhouse"
  • "Walk Your Way Out Of Town"
  • "Red Rock Bottom"
  • "Bring On The Whistles"
  • "Keep Your Hands Off Of My Gal"
  • "Head To Toe"
  • "Old Black Dog"
  • "Claude Jones"
  • "La La Blues"
  • "Daffodil"
  • "Move Out Of Town"
  • Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.