© 2021 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

NC Republicans Don't Yet Have A Nominee To Run For Mark Meadows' Seat

President Trump chats with North Carolina Congressman Mark Meadows at Charlotte Douglas International Airport Friday, Aug. 31, 2018.
Jeff Cravotta

Republicans in North Carolina's mountains aren't yet sure who will represent their party in the race to replace outgoing U.S. Rep. Mark Meadows.

The high-profile Meadows, a top Trump ally and longtime leader of the conservative House Freedom Caucus, announced in December he wasn't seeking reelection.

Twelve Republicans jumped at the chance to run for Meadows' seat, and none of them got more than 30% of the vote Tuesday. That triggers a runoff between the top two candidates, Lynda Bennett and Madison Cawthorn.

Democrats in the 11th – hoping to flip a redrawn district that now includes more of left-leaning Asheville – nominated retired U.S. Air Force Col. Moe Davis to represent their party.

Speaking of redrawn districts, Tuesday's primaries featured a new congressional map after years of legal battles over partisan gerrymandering. The previous map, which was used in the 2016 and 2018 elections, gave Republicans a 10-3 edge. Democrats are expected to pick up at least two seats in November with the new map.

Credit North Carolina General Assembly
Here's the new congressional map for North Carolina

Here's how the rest of the congressional primaries stacked up.

1st District

In the Republican primary, Sandy Smith beat out three other candidates – Michele Nix, Jim Glisson and Ethan Baca – with about 77% of the vote.

Smith will face incumbent Democratic Rep. G.K. Butterfield, who was unchallenged in his primary, in November.

2nd District

Deborah K. Ross came out on top of a four-person Democratic primary, leading Monicka Johnson-Hostler, Andrew Terrell and Ollie Oneal Nelson with about 70% of the vote.

Ross will face Republican Alan Swain and Libertarian Jeff Matemu in the general election. There were no Republican or Libertarian primaries in this race.

The current incumbent, Republican George Holding, isn't running for reelection. 

3rd District

There weren't any primaries in the race for North Carolina's 3rd U.S. House District. Democrat Daryl Farrow will square off against incumbent Republican Gregory Murphy in November.

4th District

Incumbent Democrat David E. Price soared to victory against challenger Daniel Lockwood with 87% of the vote.

In November, Price will be up against Republican Robert Thomas, who won his four-person primary with 48% of the vote. The other Republicans in the race, Debesh Sarkar, Steve A. (Von) Loor and Nasir A. Shaikh, had about 23%, 17% and 11% of the vote, respectively.

5th District

Democrat David Wilson Brown beat Eric Nathan Hughes with 68% of the vote Tuesday. It's Brown's second run for office. The Gaston County IT consultant mounted a losing bid to longtime 10th District Republican incumbent Patrick McHenry in 2018. New congressional districts this year, though, put Gaston County in the 5th District – held by Avery County Republican Virginia Foxx since 2005.

Foxx, meanwhile, was unchallenged in her primary, and will face Brown in November.

6th District

Democrat Kathy Manning won a five-person race with 48% of the vote, leaving Rhonda Foxx, Bruce Davis, Derwin Montgomery and Ed Hanes Jr. behind. She'll face Republican Lee Haywood – who won his/her primary against Laura Pichardo with 73% of the vote.

Incumbent Republican Rep. Mark Walker isn't seeking reelection.

7th District

Christopher M. Ward led his Democratic primary with 46% of the vote over Mark Judson and Robert Colon. He'll face incumbent Republican David Rouzer in November.

8th District

There weren't any primaries in the race for the 8th District, which includes Cabarrus and Stanly counties in the Charlotte region. Incumbent Republican Richard Hudson will face Democrat Patricia Timmons-Goodson in November.

Credit Cynthia Wallace campaign/U.S. House
Cynthia Wallace, left, is the Democratic nominee in North Carolina's 9th U.S. house District after Tuesday's primary. She'll face incumbent Republican Rep. Dan Bishop in November.

9th District

If you think it seems like the race for North Carolina's 9th U.S. House District has been going on for years, well, you're not entirely wrong.

There was the 2018 race that Republican Mark Harris seemingly won. Then there was the scandal over election fraud that resulted the results not being certified, a Harris campaign associate facing charges, and a new election being called.

Charlotte Republican Dan Bishop won that special election – but he's only been in Congress since September. Bishop didn't have a primary challenger. He'll face Democrat Cynthia L. Wallace of Charlotte in November.

Wallace beat three other Democrats – Harry Southerland, Clayton W. Brooks III and Marcus W. Williams – with about 56% of the vote.

Dan McCready, the Democrat who fell short in the 2018 race and 2019 special election, did not run again.

In the Charlotte region, the 9th District includes parts of Mecklenburg, Union and Anson counties.

10th District

There's only one Democrat – David Parker – in the race, so there wasn't a primary for that party.

On the Republican side, though, longtime incumbent Patrick McHenry easily fended off challenges from David L. Johnson and Ralf Walters, coming out on top with about 72% of the vote. The 10th District was significantly redrawn for this year's election, removing McHenry's native Gaston County.

In the Charlotte region, the 10th District includes Lincoln, Catawba and Iredell counties.

12th District

Democratic U.S. Rep. Alma Adams took about 88% of the vote to challenger Keith Cradle in the Democratic primary for the 12th District, which includes most of Charlotte.

13th District

There weren't primaries in the race for the 13th District, which locally includes Rowan County.

Incumbent Republican Rep. Ted Budd will face Democrat Scott Huffman in November.