© 2022 WFAE
90.7 Charlotte 93.7 Southern Pines 90.3 Hickory 106.1 Laurinburg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Charlotte Talks: Mike And The Mayor (Pro Tem) And The New Members Of City Council


Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2019

On this edition of the "Charlotte Talks" Mike and the Mayor series, we're joined by Mayor Pro Tem Julie Eiselt, newly reelected and sworn in as at-large member of Charlotte City Council and again as mayor pro tem. Plus, the three new members of City Council – Victoria Watlington of District 3, Renee' Perkins Johnson from District 4, and Malcolm Graham from District 2. 

Graham most recently was in the North Carolina Senate representing Mecklenburg County, but before that, he was a City Council member from District 4 and has now returned to the council.

Julie Eiselt and the new council members  join Mike Collins to talk about their priorities on council for 2020. Many council members stated publicly at the signing in that Charlotte’s homicide problem will be the key goal for council, Malcolm Graham stating that the city needs to call it a "public health crisis."

What's ahead for these new members and the city of Charlotte?


Julie Eiselt, mayor pro tem of Charlotte and City Council at-large member

Victoria Watlington, District 3 City Council member

Renee' Perkins Johnson, District 4 City Council member

Malcolm Graham, District 2 City Council member, former state senator and District 4 City Council member

Stay Connected
Charlotte Talks Executive Producer Wendy Herkey has been with WFAE since 1998, beginning in the membership department, and has been on the Charlotte Talks staff since 1999.
Jesse Steinmetz is Producer of Charlotte Talks with Mike Collins. Before joining WFAE in 2019, he was an intern at WNPR in Hartford, Connecticut and hosted a show at Eastern Connecticut State University.